Santana – Moonflower (Epic #282)

The Epic 2017 Project #282: 171009

Santana – Moonflower (1977)

Moonflower is a studio and live double album by Santana, released in 1977. The recording features both studio and live tracks, which are interspersed with one another throughout the album. It is perhaps the group’s most popular live album, because Lotus did not receive a U.S. domestic release until the early 1990s. It displays a mix between the fusion of Latin and blues-rock styles of the late 1960s and early 1970s, and the much more experimental and spiritual jazz fusion sound that characterized the band’s mid-1970s work. The live material was recorded during the supporting tour for the Festival album, which displayed a similar mix of styles, and many of the album’s songs are featured here – namely, the three song medley which opens Festival.

A cover version of the Zombies’ mid-1960s hit song “She’s Not There” was released as a single. The song was the first Santana recording to hit the Top 40 of the Billboard charts since “No One to Depend On” reached No.36 in 1972. The album reached No.10 on the Billboard charts and was eventually certified platinum, neither of which occurred again until the star-studded Supernatural in 1999 (See Epic 283 on Jemtunes tomorrow).


Pink Floyd – A delicate sound of thunder (Epic #217)

The Epic 2017 Project #217: 170805

Pink Floyd – A delicate sound of thunder (1988)

For the final Jemtunes ‘Epic’ outing into Pink Floyd’s album back catalogue, we conclude with Delicate Sound of Thunder. It’s a double live album recorded over five nights at the Nassau Coliseum on Long Island, New York in August 1988 and mixed at Abbey Road Studios in September 1988. It was released two months later on 22 November 1988, through EMI Records in the United Kingdom and Columbia Records in the United States.

Released as a double LP, double cassette, and a double CD, each format containing a slightly different track listing, it includes many works from A Momentary Lapse of Reason as well as tracks from older Pink Floyd albums.

Pink Floyd – Pulse (Epic 2017 #207)

The Epic 2017 Project #207: 170726

Pink Floyd – Pulse (1995)

Pulse is a live double album from Pink Floyd, released on 29 May 1995 on EMI in the United Kingdom and on 6 June 1995 by Columbia in the United States. It was recorded during the band’s Division Bell Tour in 1994, specifically the UK and European leg, which ran from July to October 1994.

Disc 2 is a complete live version of The Dark Side of the Moon and features a booklet with many photographs from performances on the tour. It also features “Astronomy Domine”, a Syd Barrett song not performed since the early 1970s.

Unlike Delicate Sound of Thunder (see Epic 217 scheduled for posting here on 5 August), David Gilmour and record producer James Guthrie say that no parts of the songs were re-recorded in the studio (James Guthrie confirmed this in an interview with Pink Floyd fanzine Brain Damage). However, the band and Guthrie fixed songs that had bad notes (as heard on some bootlegs) by lifting solos and corrected vocal lines from other performances as the band recorded most of the European leg. The CD claimed that it was mixed in “Q Sound” which produces a 3D audio effect even on a two channel stereo system.

“Take It Back” was originally going to be in the album with the recording from 25 September 1994, Stade Olympique de la Pontaise, Lausanne but was cut due to length.

Early CD versions came with a flashing red LED on the side of the case. This was designed by EMI contractor Jon Kempner, who was awarded the platinum disc, using the now discontinued LM3909 LED flasher IC. The circuit was powered by a single AA battery which (it was claimed) had a six month+ battery life. Mine lasted eight. Only problem was that (unless you were prepared to destroy your CD case in the process) it was impossible to change the battery.

King Size Slim – Chukka Chukka (Epic 2017 #145)

The Epic 2017 Project #145: 170525

King Size Slim – Chukka Chukka (2015)

I discovered King Size Slim late last year when he supported ‘Son of Dave’ on the Brighton leg of his current tour.

Using just a metal bodied dobro guitar and no other accompaniment than the stomp of his boot on the floor, the man started his set by suggesting he dispense with the amplification and just get down and dirty with the audience. So that’s what he did.

What followed was 40 minutes of heaven culminating in this barnstormer to which you cannot help but sing along. In fact – it’s an essential.

‘May we find’ comes from King Size Slim’s second album released independently in 2015.

Jimi Hendrix – Isle of Wight (Epic 2017 #110)

The Epic 2017 Project #110: 170420

Jimi Hendrix – Isle of Wight (1971)

Isle of Wight is a posthumous live album by Jimi Hendrix, released in November 1971 by Polydor in the UK only. It documents Hendrix’s performance at the 1970 Isle of Wight Festival on 30 August 1970, his last performance in England before his death in September. The album was engineered by Carlos Ohlms (a British-based engineer). The record company did not use a picture from the Isle of Wight concert. The cover photo is from a live concert on 4 September 1970 at Deutschlandhalle, Berlin.

The album spent only two weeks in the UK Albums Chart, peaking at No. 17. But it remains one of my all time favourites

Isle of Wight contains just part of the concert, but this release has a unique mix compared to the 2002 release of the entire performance on the album Blue Wild Angel: Live at the Isle of Wight.

Gong – Floating Anarchy (Epic 2017 #099)

The Epic 2017 Project #099: 170409

Gong – Floating Anarchy (1977)

Back to my hippy days with this one.

Live Floating Anarchy 1977 came from Planet Gong. Essentially the late Daevid Allen and Gilli Smyth accompanied by the band Here & Now. It was recorded in Toulouse on 6 November 1977, apart from the track “Opium for the People” which was a studio recording.

Floating Anarchy – a snub to the Sex Pistols debut single – was originally released on the French LTM record label, run by Jean Karakos, who had previously run Tapioca and BYG

Dr Feelgood – Stupidity (Epic 2017 #048)

The Epic 2017 Project #048: 170217

Dr Feelgood – Stupidity (1976)


Dr Feelgood’s third album release (and first live one) topped the UK charts on its release in 1976 without the aid of a hit single release. It was the first ever live album to go to number 1 in the UK chart in its first week of release. And, rather less significantly, was also the bands’ first and only recording to reach number 1.

The original vinyl album release featured seven tracks, recorded in Sheffield, on Side 1, and six tracks, recorded in Dr Feelgood’s hometown, Southend, on Side 2. A free single, only issued with the first 20,000 copies, included live versions of ‘Riot in Cell block No.9’ (also recorded in Southend) and ‘Johnny B Goode’ (recorded in Aylesbury).


This is Southend’s Kursaal today, the ballroom of which was where side two of ‘Stupidy’ was recorded. It’s a Grade II listed building which had originally opened in 1901 as part of one of the world’s first purpose-built amusement parks. Sadly, with the exception of the ballroom which had remained Southend’s foremost rock venue, the Kursaal as a whole went into gradual decline from the early 1970s. At the end of 1977 the decision was made to close the ballroom as well though and the main building finally went the same way in 1986. The outdoor amusement area was redeveloped for housing but the main Kursaal building reopened in 1998 after a multimillion-pound redevelopment, containing a bowling alley, a casino and other amusements. Happily, the unique ‘Kursaal’ lettering on the dome remains.