ZZ Top – Rhythmeen (Epic #365) – The Last

The Epic 2017 Project #366 (the last): 171231

ZZ Top – Rhythmeen (1996)

Rhythmeen is the twelfth studio album by the American blues rock band ZZ Top, released in 1996.

It was the first ZZ Top album to have a title track, although 1994’s Antenna featured a song called “Antenna Head”. It is also the last album with longtime producer, Bill Ham.’s Antenna featured a song called “Antenna Head”). It is also the last album with longtime producer, Bill Ham.

Today marks the last episode in the JemTunes ‘Epic 2017 Project’. I’ve worked my way through 365 albums from A-Z, featuring a different one every day with a track from the same. It’s been a good project, one which I’ve enjoyed researching, writing and blogging.

But I needed something different for 2018. Still going to be a year-long project with a post for every day. But the theme and design’s a little different.

I’ll be 59 in 2018 (which means I was born in 1959). So the 2018 JemTunes project – starting tomorrow – is ‘The 59 Project’. Still going to look at a different album every day, but this year I’ll be working through the 59 years from 1959 right though to 2018 – about 4 years a month.

Be good to have you on board as I start on 1st January 2018 with Dave Brubeck’s 1959 album ‘Time Out’.


ZZ Top – Eliminator (Epic #364)

The Epic 2017 Project #364: 171230

ZZ Top – Eliminator (1983)

ZZ Top’s subliminal eighth studio album was the now infamous ‘Eliminator’.  It was released on March 23, 1983, by Warner Bros. Records. Recorded in Tennessee during 1982, the album was produced by the band’s manager Bill Ham and peaked at the top of the charts in many countries.

“Gimme All Your Lovin'”, “Got Me Under Pressure”, “Sharp Dressed Man”, “TV Dinners” and “Legs” were released as singles  all helping to make Eliminator ZZ Top’s most commercially successful release.

ZZ Top – Tres Hombres (Epic #362)

The Epic 2017 Project #362: 171228

ZZ Top – Tres Hombres (1973)

ZZ Top’s third album – Tres Hombres – was released in 1973. It was the first time the band worked with Terry Manning as engineer, successful as it marked the band’s commercial breakthrough. In the US, the album entered the top ten and the single “La Grange” reached No.41 in the UK singles charts.

At the height of ZZ Top’s success in the mid-1980s a digitally remixed version of the recording was released on CD and the original 1973 mix was no longer issued. The remix version created controversy because it significantly changed the sound of the instruments, especially drums. The remix version was used on all early CD copies and was the only version available for over 20 years. A remastered and expanded edition of the album was released on February 28, 2006, which contains three bonus live tracks. The 2006 edition is the first CD version to use Manning’s original 1973 mix. Subsequent releases on digital platforms such as iTunes have used the original mix as well.

ZZ Top – Rio Grande Mud (Epic #361)

The Epic 2017 Project #361: 171227

ZZ Top – Rio Grande Mud (1972)

ZZ Top’s second album, inspired by the river that borders Mexico and Texas, was released in 1972.

It was later remixed for CD release and, on January 11, 2011, Rhino released a remastered version from the original 1972 mix on vinyl only. Download only versions (on Amazon and iTunes) followed in 2012 The original mix of the album was re-released on CD in June 2013 as part of the box set The Complete Studio Albums (1970-1990).

ZZ Top – First Album (Epic #360)

The Epic 2017 Project #360: 171226

ZZ Top – First Album (1971)

So, as the Jemtunes ‘Epic 2017 Project’ draws to a close, episodes 360-365 take us to the letter Z. And although there are other bands with names down at this end of the alphabet, Epic 2017 finishes with six albums from the masters of Texan 12-bar blues – ZZ Top.

Their debut studio album was produced by manager Bill Ham, and released on January 16, 1971, on London Records. Establishing their attitude and humour, ZZ Top incorporated boogie, hard rock, and Southern rock influences into their sound. Seeking inspiration from Fleetwood Mac, ZZ Top began recording the album at Robin Hood Studios in Tyler, Texas. Somebody else been shaking your tree/Neighbour Neighbour was released as a single but failed to chart.

In 1987, the album was remixed for CD release and In 2013, the original vinyl mix was released on HD Tracks in high-resolution digital download formats.

Here’s Bedroom Thang – as good a slice of 12-bar as you’re likely to hear.

Neil Young – After the Goldrush (Epic #359)

The Epic 2017 Project #359: 171225

Neil Young – After the Goldrush (1970)

After the Gold Rush was the third studio album from Neil Young. Released in September 1970 on Reprise Records, it is one of four high-profile albums released by each member of folk rock collective Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young in the wake of their chart-topping 1970 album Déjà Vu. Gold Rush consists mainly of country folk music, along with the rocking “Southern Man”,[4] inspired by the Dean Stockwell-Herb Bermann screenplay After the Gold Rush.

The album peaked at No.8 on the Billboard Top Pop Albums chart; the two singles taken from the album, “Only Love Can Break Your Heart” and “When You Dance I Can Really Love”, made it to number 33 and number 93 respectively. Despite a mixed initial reaction, it has since appeared on a number of “greatest albums” lists (including mine)