Afrikan Boy – Border Business (Leaping Ahead #129)

Leaping Ahead Project 2016 #129: 160508

[Song from the last album purchased]

We caught Afrikan Boy at Brighton’s Green Door Store a couple of weekend’s back, admirably supported by our very own Mok (the band my daughter’s the lead singer with). This is from his 2014 album ‘ABCD’ which I purchased from the Merchman on the night.

Gnarls Barkley – Crazy (Leaping Ahead #53)

Leaping Ahead Project 2016 #53: 160222

[A noughties song (2)]

A collaboration between Danger Mouse and CeeLo Green and taken from their 2006 debut album ‘St. Elsewhere’, “Crazy” was Gnarls Barkley’s debut single. The song was leaked in late 2005, months before its regular release, and consequently received massive airplay on BBC Radio 1 in the United Kingdom, most notably by radio DJ Zane Lowe, who also used the song in television commercials for his radio show. When it was finally released in March 2006, it became the first single to top the UK Singles Chart on download sales alone.

Classic albums A-Z: Quantic Soul Orchestra – Stampede (2003)



As soon as it hit the shelves back in April 2003, the album was greeted by a wealth of fervent accolades from the music press, club and radio DJs alike. Joined by an 11-strong band of supremely talented musicians, Will & Co belt out their very own electrifying brand of funk, soul, jazz and afro-beat. Three of the album’s ten tracks are voiced by Alice Russell, who first appeared alongside Will on his second Quantic LP. Of these, a breathtaking cover of 4Hero’s ‘Hold It Down’ remains a highlight in the QSO’s repertoire to this day. ‘Stampede’ also includes a new vocal version of crowd pleaser ‘Super 8’ featuring Jon Hughes. (


‘Putting something back’ is how Will Holland described the reason for starting the Quantic Soul Orchestra, a live project – strictly no samples allowed.  (From album sleeve notes)

It’s one of my faves – but you should make up your own minds. Here’s a starter for ten…

Full track listing
  1. Stampede
  2. Raw ingredients
  3. Walking through tomorrow (super 8 part 3)
  4. South Coastin
  5. Something that’s real
  6. Hold it down
  7. Assassin
  8. Terrapin
  9. Babaraatiri
  10. Take your time, change your mind