Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History (Epic #334)

The Epic 2017 Project #334: 171130

Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History (2010)

The debut studio album from Irish indies Two Door Cinema Club, released on 17 February 2010 by Kitsuné. The album is named for the reputation of the band’s hometown, Bangor, as a tourist attraction.

The album was recorded at Eastcote Studios in London with Eliot James in July 2009, and was based in a studio adjacent to Duran Duran. It was mixed at Phillipe Zdar’s newly built studio, Motorbass. After working with Two Door Cinema Club, Zdar told the NME…

Their stuff was already tight—I was just able to give big bass, big highs and something a bit large! They are completely crazy about music—there is not one hour when they don’t listen or download something from a blog. They remind me of me when I was a teenager.

Tourist History won the Choice Music Prize for the 2010 Irish Album of the Year. The band donated the €10,000 prize money to charity.

Traffic – John Barleycorn must die (Epic #332)

The Epic 2017 Project #332: 171128

Traffic – John Barleycorn must die (1970)

Traffic’s fourth studio album, released in 1970 on Island Records in the United Kingdom, and United Artists in the United States. It peaked at number 5 on the Billboard 200, making it their highest charting album in the US, and has been certified a gold record by the RIAA. In addition, the single “Empty Pages” spent eight weeks on the Billboard Hot 100, peaking at number 74. It was marginally less successful in the UK, reaching number 11 on the UK Albums Chart.

Tom Robinson Band – Power in the Darkness (Epic #331)

The Epic 2017 Project #331: 171127

Tom Robinson Band – Power in the Darkness (1978)

Power in the Darkness was the debut studio album from the Tom Robinson Band, released in early 1978. The UK LP had ten tracks. It included inside the album cover a stencil similar to the cover art, but with the album title replaced by “Tom Robinson Band”; it held the warning, “This stencil is not meant for spraying on public property!!!”. The US release was packaged with a seven-track bonus LP. The 1993 CD re-release included all 17 tracks. Two more tracks were included on a 2004 re-release.

Tanita Tikaram – Ancient Heart (Epic #330)

The Epic 2017 Project #330: 171126

Tanita Tikaram – Ancient Heart (1988)

Tanita Tikaram was just 19 when she released her debut studio album ‘Ancient Heart’ on Warner Music in September 1988. The album had huge success and was a hit globally, launching Tanita’s mainstream career. Guest musicians included Rod Argent, Mark Isham, Peter Van Hooke, Paul Brady, and Brendan Croker. Argent and Van Hooke produced the album. The record included four singles – Good Tradition, Cathedral Song, World outside your window and Twist in my sobriety.

Ting Tings – We started nothing (Epic #329)

The Epic 2017 Project #329: 171125

The Ting Tings – We Started Nothing (2008)

We Started Nothing is the debut studio album by English indie pop duo The Ting Tings, released on 16 May 2008 by Columbia Records. The US edition had a different cover image in several background colours. The album was also released in the UK on red vinyl limited to 2,000 copies. The US vinyl version was a standard black vinyl pressing.

So taken were we by the album release that the Gigsters group I’m part of booked tickets to see the Tings Tings when they played The Shepherds Bush Empire in October 2008. Shortest gig (time wise) I’d ever been to. Good as it was, the band played through their album and then stopped. Forty-five minutes. No encore. Down the pub!

The Tings Tings are Katie White and Jules de Martino. This is what Ms White had to say in 2009 about the writing of the debut:

The way we write changes with each song. “Keep Your Head” started with Jules on the drums, “We Walk” started with me on piano, “Shut Up and Let Me Go” started with Jules on bass, “That’s Not My Name” was me ranting about my frustrations with the record industry. “Great DJ” was me playing a D chord on the guitar for hours, because that’s all I could play. And then I put my finger on the wrong string, and got what I discovered was an augmented chord. And that was the riff! The lyrics described the life we were living at the time. It was about getting lost in hedonism, about forgetting that you had bailiffs knocking at your door and just surrendering to the joys of the music in a nightclub for several hours—the boys, the girls, the strings, the drums

George Thorogood & The Destroyers (Epic #328)

The Epic 2017 Project #328: 171124

George Thorogood & The Destroyers (1977)

George Thorogood’s self-titled debut was released in 1977. Comprising mostly covers of blues classics, it included a medley of John Lee Hooker’s “House Rent Boogie” and “One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer”, the latter a song written by Rudy Toombs for Amos Milburn, and later covered by Hooker.

In 2015 Rounder released George Thorogood and the Delaware Destroyers, a new remix of the album featuring the three-piece band as originally recorded and mixed. It omits the bass overdubs by Billy Blough which were added after the original recording sessions. It also adds the previously unreleased Elmore James track “Goodbye Baby.