Megadeth – Rust in Peace (The ’59) #197

The ’59 2018 #197: 180716

Megadeth – Rust in Peace (1990)

Jem of Jemtunes, born in 1959, has now turned 59. So ‘The ’59’ celebrates 59 years of cracking tunes with a few albums from each year – 1959 through 2018. Currently we’re at year 32 – 1990.

Rust in Peace was the fourth studio album from American thrash metal band Megadeth, released on September 24, 1990 by Capitol Records.

Following the departure of band members Jeff Young and Chuck Behler in 1989, ‘Rust in Peace’ was the first album to feature guitarist Marty Friedman and drummer Nick Menza.  The album was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance at the 33rd Grammy Awards.

Two singles were released: “Hangar 18” and “Holy Wars… The Punishment Due”, which have become staples of the band’s live performances.