One Minute Silence – One lie fits all (Epic 2017 #194)

The Epic 2017 Project #194: 170713

One Minute Silence – Oner lie fits all (2003)

One Lie Fits All is the third album from One Minute Silence. It was released on 7 July 2003. Produced by John Leckie, it was the band’s last album before they announced their breakup in October 2003 and never enjoyed a supporting tour, unlike the two EP’s (Revolution and We Bounce – a two part single for “I Wear My Skin” was also released) which came during the anticipation for the album release.

The album was a marked progression from their previous rap metal style displayed on Available In All Colours (and to a lesser degree Buy Now… Saved Later which was quite similar in its toned down, more mellow vibe) the sound was much more refined and reflective in places. Although the album still had its epic tracks which the band were known for, especially live.

The album also gave One Minute Silence their highest charting single with ‘I Wear My Skin’ reaching number 44 in the UK charts.

November 17 – Defy Everything (Epic 2017 #189)

The Epic 2017 Project #189: 170708

November 17 – Defy Everything (1999)

N17 (sometimes known as November 17) were an Industrial metal band from Phoenix, Arizona, United States. Formed in 1993, they were one of the original crossover electronic/metal They released two albums and were signed to Slipdisc Records (a division of Mercury Records) until the label closed in late 1999. They were also signed to Spitfire Records until the band’s split in 2001.

The band took its name from the November 17, 1973, student uprising at Athens Polytechnic University. Twenty students were killed when Greek army tanks suppressed the protests, and the group was formed in part to retaliate against the ruling military junta.

Metallica – And justice for all (Epic 2017 #176)

The Epic 2017 Project #176: 170625

Metallica – And justice for all (1988)

Metallica released their 4th studio album “…And Justice for All” on Elektra Records in August 1988. It was the band’s first studio album to feature bassist Jason Newsted after the death of Cliff Burton in 1986. The album is musically progressive, with long and complex songs, fast tempos, and few verse-chorus structures The lyrics feature themes of political and legal injustice seen through the prisms of censorship, war, and nuclear brinkmanship.

The album’s front cover, designed by Stephen Gorman on a scheme by James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich, features a representation of Lady Justice, bound by ropes, with one breast bare and its scales tipping toward one plate filled with money. The phrase “…And Justice for All” appears spray-painted in the lower right corner. The album title is derived from the American Pledge of Allegiance. Three songs from the album were released as singles: “Harvester of Sorrow”, “Eye of the Beholder”, and “One”, while the title track was released as a promotional single.

…And Justice for All was acclaimed by music critics. It was included in The Village Voice’s annual Pazz & Jop critics’ poll of the year’s best albums, and the single “One” earned Metallica its first Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance in 1990. The group’s best-selling album at the time, it was the first underground metal album to achieve chart success in the United States.

Alter Bridge – The last hero (Epic 2017 #007)

The Epic 2017 Project #007: 170107

Alter Bridge – The last hero (2016)


I have long been in awe of Myles Kennedy’s vocal talents, so it was pretty well a no brainer to get the fifth Alter Bridge album on its release last October.

Heavy metal in its purest form, this doesn’t hold any punches. In fact, whack up the volume on ‘My Champion’ and you’ll feel like you’ve had a few!

Godsmack – 1000hp (Leaping Ahead #365)

Leaping Ahead Project 2016 #365: 161230

[A guitar song (12)]

And so to the final two. This has been a good project and I’m quite pleased that I’ve made it to #365. Three hundred and sixty-five different themed tracks published daily from 1st January through to now, 30th December. Hope you’ve enjoyed it. One more to go…but then it’ll be time for ‘Epic 2017’. More about that tomorrow. For now though – here’s Godsmack. Great power in this this track – in terms of both the guitar work and the story behind the lyrics. In the end it’s all about the music and the music is all about the fans.