Girl in a Coma – Trio BC (Epic 2017 #096)

The Epic 2017 Project #096: 170406

Girl in a Coma – Trio BC (2009)

Girl In a Coma is an indie rock band from San Antonio, Texas formerly on Joan Jett’s Blackheart Records’ label. Formed in 2006, the band is made up of sisters Nina (vocals/guitar) and Phanie Diaz (drums) and long-time friend, Jenn Alva (bass).The name is a reference to The Smiths’ song “Girlfriend in a Coma”.

Trio BC was their second studio album

Death in Vegas – Dead Elvis (Epic 2017 #051)

The Epic 2017 Project #051: 170220

Death in Vegas – Dead Elvis (1997)


Dead Elvis is the band’s debut studio album released on March 10, 1997 in the United Kingdom and on September 16, 1997 in the United States. This was the only Death in Vegas album to feature original member Steve Hellier. The British release features coloured Elvis graffiti on the cover, while the US version features a tattoo artist.

Death in Vegas was formed in 1994 by Richard Fearless and Steve Hellier and signed to Concrete Records under the name of “Dead Elvis”. However, there was an Irish record label of the same name at the time, and Dead Elvis became the title of their first album instead. Rankin Roger’s (of ‘The Beat’ fame) vocals feature throughout the album but most notably on the opening track – ‘All that glitters’ featured here.

The VirginMarys – Into Dust (Leaping Ahead #23)

Leaping Ahead Project 2016 #23: 160123

[A song from the 2010’s (1)]

The VirginMarys (who we had the privilege of seeing a couple of years ago before they hit the major leagues) released ‘Into Dust’ back in November. It’s the first single release from their as yet untitled second album due out (hopefully) sometime later this year.

One Minute Silence (Rock A-Z part #57)

With influences from metal, hardcore punk and rap, London’s ‘One Minute Silence’ chose their name partly because they had to – an American band shared their origins name of ‘Near Death Experience – and partly as a parody of having a minute’s silence as a mark of respect when a notable person dies; the parody being that the ‘respect’ is often ‘displayed’ instead.

One Minute Silence is Yap on Vox, Massimo Flocco on guitar, Glen on bass and Martin Davies on drums. ‘I wear my skin’ is from the 2003 album ‘One lie fits all’.