Screaming Eagles – Stand up and counted (Epic #289)

The Epic 2017 Project #289: 171016

Screaming Eagles – Stand up and be counted (2015)

Debut album from this Belfast based foursome formed in 2012.


Tony Sarno – It’s a blues thing (Epic #285)

The Epic 2017 Project #285: 171012

Tony Sarno – It’s a blues thing (2007)

Debut album from American blues guitarist/singer/songwriter based in Nashville, Tennessee.

“I Ain’t Superstitious” is a song written by bluesman Willie Dixon and first recorded by Howlin’ Wolf in 1961. It recounts various superstitions, including that of a black cat crossing the pathway. The song has been recorded by a number of artists over the years including Jeff Beck, Cry of Love (Epic #42) and here, Tony Sarno.

Eric Sardinas – Devil’s Train (Epic #284)

The Epic 2017 Project #284: 171011

Eric Sardinas – Devil’s Train (2007)

Eric Sardinas (born November 10, 1970) is an American blues-rock slide guitarist born in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. He is noted for his use of the electric resonator guitar and his live performances.

Eric began to play the guitar at age six and leaned toward vintage recordings by such Delta bluesmen as Charlie Patton, Bukka White, Big Bill Broonzy, Elmore James, and Muddy Waters. Although he was left-handed, he eventually started to play right-handed.

In 2002, he was featured on the Bo Diddley tribute album Hey Bo Diddley – A Tribute!, performing the song “Ride On Josephine”.

He signed to Steve Vai’s Favored Nations record label and was the opening act for Vai’s The Real Illusions Tour 2005 around the world. Devil’s Train is his second studio album.

Santana – Abraxas (Epic #281)

The Epic 2017 Project #281: 171008

Santana – Abraxas (1970)

The playlist at a gig we went to in Brighton last night included Santana’s version of ‘Black Magic Woman’. Rather excellent timing as I’d already scheduled ‘Abraxas’ for an airing in the Epic 2017 series. So here it is.

Abraxas was Santana’s second studio album. Building upon the interest generated by their self-titled first album released in August 1969 and their highly acclaimed live performance at the Woodstock Festival in August 1969, the band released Abraxas in September 1970. The album’s mix of rock, blues, jazz, salsa, and other influences was very well received, showing a musical maturation from their first album and refining the band’s early sound.

In 2016, the album was selected for preservation in the National Recording Registry due to its “cultural, historic, or artistic significance.

Black Magic Woman was written by Peter Green from the early Fleetwood Mac line-up. So here’s a vid of two 70-year olds performing it. Rather stunning stuff. Partly because it shows Mr Green back on form after the recluse years and partly because it shows that Mr Santana has never lost it! Enjoy.

The Rolling Stones – Exile on Main Street (Epic #272)

The Epic 2017 Project #272: 170929

The Rolling Stones – Exile on Main Street (1972)

For the penultimate foray into the Stones’ back catalogue, I’ve picked my personal favourite.

Exile on Main Street, a double album, was released on 12 May 1972 by Rolling Stones Records. It was the band’s first double album and tenth studio album released in the United Kingdom. It was primarily recorded in a rented villa in Nellcôte, France while the band lived abroad as tax exiles, and is rooted in styles such as blues, rock and roll, swing, country, and gospel. The sessions included additional musicians such as pianist Nicky Hopkins, saxophonist Bobby Keys, drummer Jimmy Miller, and horn player Jim Price, and were completed at Los Angeles’ Sunset Sound.

Although it originally received mixed reviews, some critics have since called Exile on Main St. the Rolling Stones’ best work, and it has been ranked on various lists as one of the greatest albums of all time. A remastered and expanded version of the album was released in Europe on 17 May 2010 and in the United States on 18 May 2010, featuring a bonus disc with 10 new tracks.

The Rolling Stones – Beggars Banquet (Epic #271)

The Epic 2017 Project #271: 170928

The Rolling Stones – Beggars Banquet (1968)

Today’s the antepenultimate Jemtunes foray into the Rolling Stones’ back catalogue.

Beggars Banquet was the seventh British and ninth American studio album. It was released in December 1968 by Decca Records in the United Kingdom and London Records in the United State and was a return to roots rock for the band following the psychedelic pop of their 1967 album Their Satanic Majesties Request (see Epic #270). It was the last Rolling Stones album to be released during Brian Jones’ lifetime.