Robert Plant – Band of Joy (Epic 2017 #233)

The Epic 2017 Project #233: 170821

Robert Plant – Band of Joy (2010)

Robert Plant’s ninth solo album and the first with his new band, the Band of Joy, released on 13 September 2010 in the UK and 14 September in the USA.

In addition to the song “Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down”, which is the opening theme for the now-concluded Starz television series Boss, the credits of BBC 1’s Luther for an episode aired on 16 July 2013 and the season two finale of the Syfy series Defiance, the album is particularly notable for the song “Monkey”, originally of the band Low, which is slowed-down to a grinding, spooky Gothic Rock tempo and mood that is vastly different from Low’s version. It is arguably the least similar to other tracks on the album (except for Satan), which for the most part carry folk rock or progressive rock moods. This version of “Monkey” also may be the first Gothic Rock track Robert Plant has ever recorded, and although it is not a staple at Plant’s live performances, there have been instances where he has performed it.

The album debuted at No.5 on the Billboard 200 chart and at No.3 on the UK Albums Chart. The first single released from the album was “Angel Dance”. But here’s ‘House of Cards’


Robert Plant – Dreamland (Epic 2017 #232)

The Epic 2017 Project #232: 170820

Robert Plant – Dreamland (2002)

Dreamland is Robert Plant’s seventh solo album and the first with his band “Strange Sensation”. It was released in July 2002.

Many of the songs are cover versions, mainly blues, but also some rock. It was nominated for two Grammys in 2002 — Best Rock Album and Best Male Rock Vocal Performance for “Darkness, Darkness.”

Here’s ‘One more cup of coffee’

Robert Plant – Manic Nirvana (Epic 2017 #231)

The Epic 2017 Project #231: 170819

Robert Plant – Manic Nirvana (1990)

Manic Nirvana is the fifth solo album by former Led Zeppelin singer Robert Plant, released in 1990. The album’s lead single, “Big Love”, reached No. 35 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart, and its follow-up single, “Hurting Kind (I’ve Got My Eyes on You)”, held the No. 1 position on the same chart for six consecutive weeks.

The vinyl release of the LP had 10 songs (5 on each side) rather than 11, omitting “She Said” from its track listing.

The album was re-released in a remastered edition on 20 March 2007.

Here’s ‘Tie Dye on the highway” from the vinyl release.

Plant & Page – No Quarter (Epic 2017 #230)

The Epic 2017 Project #230: 170818

Plant & Page – No Quarter (1994)

OK you lucky lot. Today you’re getting eight episodes of ‘Epic’ all on the same day; essentially because I’m away for a week with no possibility of updating blogs etc.

And the final episode, bringing us up to date before my next posting on Saturday 19 August is ‘No Quarter’, a live album by Jimmy Page & Robert Plant, released by Atlantic Records on 14 October 1994. The long-awaited reunion between Jimmy Page and Robert Plant occurred on a 90-minute “UnLedded” MTV project, recorded in Morocco, Wales, and London.

In addition to acoustic numbers, the album features a reworking of Led Zeppelin classics featuring a Moroccan string band and Egyptian orchestra supplementing a core group of rock and roll musicians, along with four Middle-Eastern and Moroccan-influenced songs: “City Don’t Cry”, “Yallah” (or “The Truth Explodes”), “Wonderful One”, and “Wah Wah”.

The album was #4 on debut on the Billboard’s Pop Albums chart.

Several years later, Plant reflected on the collaboration very positively:

The will and the eagerness with Unledded were fantastic and [Page] was really creative. Jimmy and I went in a room and it was back. His riffs were spectacular. To take it as far as we did, and the tour we did – it’s one of the most ambitious and mind altering experiences.