Daft Punk – Random Access Memories (The ’59) #336

The ’59 2018 #336: 181202

Daft Punk – Random Access Memories (2013)

Jem of Jemtunes, born in 1959, has now turned 59. So ‘The ’59’ celebrates 59 years of cracking tunes with a few albums from each year – 1959 through 2018. Currently we’re at year 55 – 2013.

Random Access Memories, Daft Punk’s fourth studio album, was released on 17 May 2013 on the duo’s imprint label “Daft Life” and Columbia Records.

Daft Punk recruited session musicians to perform live instrumentation and limited the use of electronic instruments to drum machines, a custom-built modular synthesizer, and vintage vocoders. The album features collaborations with Giorgio Moroder, Panda Bear, Julian Casablancas, Todd Edwards, DJ Falcon, Chilly Gonzales, Nile Rodgers, Paul Williams and Pharrell Williams.

The lead single “Get Lucky” was a critical and commercial success, topping the charts in more than 30 countries and becoming one of the best-selling digital to date.

At the 56th Annual Grammy Awards in 2014, the album won Grammy Awards for Album of the Year, Best Dance/Electronica Album and Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical, and “Get Lucky” won for Record of the Year and Best Pop Duo/Group Performance.