Cheap Trick – Dream Police (Epic 2017 #036)

The Epic 2017 Project #036: 170205

Cheap Trick – Dream Police (1979)

cheap_trick_dream_police

I’ve had this album since it first came out 37 years ago. In fact, I can even remember the day! Sal and I had married that July and, in the first week of the new term – late September 1979 – I’d received a little bonus for some extra work done that week. Back in the late 70’s I earned just over £40 a week. And ‘Castle Records’ in the arcade in the town centre was where I regularly parted with some of that cash.

Life was cheaper in the Midlands back at the end of the 70s. Rent was £11 a week and food – about a tenner between us. So around half of what I earned was ours for the spending. £3 tops secured a ticket for that week’s gig at the Union Building, a quid for a TDK D-90 blank cassette and around a fiver for an album. I’d heard ‘Need your love’ on the juke box in a campus cafe called ‘The Purple Onion’, so I knew in advance which I’d buy that week. And, listening to it now, almost 37 years later, it’s still as fresh as it was back then. Good music never dies.

Leave a Reply

