Joni Mitchell – Big yellow taxi (Leaping Ahead #122)

Leaping Ahead Project 2016 #122: 160501

[A song with colour (5)]

Released in 1970 on her ‘Ladies of the Canyon’ album, Joni Mitchell said this about writing the song to journalist Alan McDougall in the early 1970s:

I wrote ‘Big Yellow Taxi’ on my first trip to Hawaii. I took a taxi to the hotel and when I woke up the next morning, I threw back the curtains and saw these beautiful green mountains in the distance. Then, I looked down and there was a parking lot as far as the eye could see, and it broke my heart… this blight on paradise. That’s when I sat down and wrote the song.

Leave a Reply

