The Anthem Challenge #6

The Anthem Challenge is simple in task but complex in choice. Ten anthems over ten days that mean something in your life. Say a bit about each and add a ping back to me so that I can see what you’ve chosen. This is day 6 for me and, true to the cause, here’s my ping back to Alfred’s Almanac who started everything off.

Anthem #6 – Led Zeppelin – Four Sticks

When I got my first copy of Led Zep IV I was so proud of it that I carried it around with me, even taking it to school from time to time. I had an old Dansette in my bedroom which was great, but my Dad’s Garrard Stereogramme was infinitely louder. And ‘Four Sticks’ at top volume  on a summer’s day blasting out into a respectable suburban street was something else. It might not have endeared my parents long-suffering neighbours to me much. But, to an impressionable long-haired 14-year old  in the early 1970’s, it was heaven.

Still is – although not quite so loud through open windows these days!

In case you’re interested, here are my earlier anthems with pick-back links

  1. Patti Smith – Because the Night – 19 October
  2. Cozy Powell – Na Na Na – 20 October
  3. Steve Howe – Australia – 21 October
  4. Ten Years After – I’m Going Home – 22 October
  5. Rory Gallagher – Bullfrog Blues – 23 October
2 thoughts on “The Anthem Challenge #6

  1. Oh yes….what a song!!! I will be featuring a Zeppelin song, but still undecided as to which one. Led Zeppelin are, along with Pink Floyd, my favourite band of all time. Cant fault your choice here, Jem. Superb :]

Leave a Reply

