25 songs in 25 days #21

One song per day along with an explanation of why you picked it. Day 21 – your favourite song

Gosh! That’s a tricky one – there are so many. And it’s a changing constant as the years go by. I think I’ve got it nailed to a top 10 or a top 20 or even a top 100 and then someone goes and buggers it up with yet another wonderful tune which becomes an instant favourite. But, having said all that, there actually is one song which rides up there above all others, and has remained so over the years. So I don’t really have any reservations by confirming that this is my favourite song…

Rory Gallagher – Bullfrog Blues (1972)

Yes, it’s a cover of a traditional blues song penned by one William Harris back in 1928 and since covered by many. But Rory Gallagher’s remains top of the pile for me. My first introduction was at a party I went to when at art college in the late 1970’s. I was instantly smitten and it became a firm favourite at every party I was invited to or crashed from then on and for several years.

One notably memorable occasion was a wild all-nighter at a big house in Arundel, West Sussex in the autumn of 1977. Sleeping it off in my mate’s attic we decided that as good a cure as anything for a thumping hangover would be Bullfrog Blues at top volume. Problem was that we didn’t appreciate that others sleeping in the rooms below might not share our enthusiasm. They didn’t, and my mate sported a black eye for a few weeks as a result.

Leave a Reply

