25 songs in 25 days #16

One song per day along with an explanation of why you picked it. Day 16 – a song that has made you cry.

That’s a really difficult one – because there are so many. Music does that to me generically; it could be blues or a ballad, something classical or a particularly stunning guitar riff; a deep and heavy bass line, a drum solo – in fact anything that makes my spine tingle is likely to bring a tear or two as well. That’s the thing with music and me.

However, I have to pick one so I’ll go back to this cracker of a blues anthem…

John Mayall – the death of JB Lenoir (1967)

This one will do it every time for me. Guaranteed. It’s probably a combination of the mournful and heartfelt lyrics and the slow drum rhythm, but when John Mayall’s haunting blues harp is followed by that incredible sax solo…well, suffice to say, I’ll always need a tissue or two to hand.

Leave a Reply

