25 songs in 25 days #7

One song per day along with an explanation of why you picked it. Day 7 – a song that reminds you of the past summer.

Well, as I’m writing this in the middle of the 2014 summer, I’m going to assume that this refers to last year. Which is good as today’s song was a blaster for summer 2013

Son of Dave – Hot Summer Nights (2013

The master of the loop pedal, we’ve had the pleasure of seeing the man live – and that’s an experience to be sure. Replete with suitcase full of blues harps, a variety of shakers and the ubiquitous loop pedal, Mr Darvill’s stage set isn’t so much a gig as an interactive happening; to all intents and purposes, an art form.

But I’m off track. “Hot summer nights” says everything about summer that I need it to. I am a child of the summer, born of June and therefore alive in heat, dead in cold. Nights in shorts with a cold beer and a warm wind, the fragrance of jasmine in the air and the promise of unbroken sunshine on the morrow is what it’s all about for me. And this song takes me to that place and time even when I’m a million miles away from it.

Leave a Reply

