25 songs in 25 days #3

One song per day along with an explanation of why you picked it. Day 3 – a song that reminds you of one or both of your parents.

Chris Barber’s jazz band – When the saints go marching in (1957)

I still have this amazing recording of big band fifties jazz on a 45rpm EP once belonging to my late father. Neither of my parents were into popular music per se. But my Dad harboured a secret love of jazz left over a little from his youth in the years before he met my Mother. I don’t think I ever heard him play the records mind you – it was me who found them and gave them a spin on the Dansette an aunt gave me second-hand for my 12th birthday.

2 thoughts on “25 songs in 25 days #3

  1. Ah but I wish I still had that Dansette; it was a treasured thing. But it was second hand then and some 43 years ago now. Would be a collector’s item now. Still got the 45 though!

Leave a Reply

