Classic albums A-Z: Vinegar Joe – Speed Queen of Ventura (2003)



Although only together for two years (1972 – 1974), Vinegar Joe remains notable for launching the solo careers of Elkie Brooks and Robert Palmer. Unless you were fortunate to own one of the original vinyl pressings of their three albums, it was impossible to get any back catalogue stuff. Nothing was re-issued on CD  so it was only by way of second hand record shops that you had a chance to get your hands on any of their material. Until 2003 when Island released the rather excellent compilation CD ‘Speed Queen of Ventura – an introduction to Vinegar Joe’

There’s a lot of cracking stuff here including my absolute favourite ‘Never met a dog’. Here’s a bit of that for you to enjoy too.

Full track listing
  1. See the world (through my eyes)
  2. Circles
  3. Never met a dog (that took to me)
  4. Give a little, get somewhere
  5. Speed queen of Ventura
  6. Angel
  7. Charley’s Horse
  8. Buddy can you spare me a line
  9. Forgive us
  10. No one ever do
  11. Fine thing
  12. Talkin bout my baby
  13. Proud to be (a Honkey Woman)
  14. Black smoke (rising from the Calumet)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s