Classic albums A-Z: The Rolling Stones – Sticky Fingers (1971)



There were three tunes that were always guaranteed to get me on the dance floor at the Student Union disco. ‘Nutbush City Limits’ was one, ‘Freebird’ another and ‘Brown Sugar’ the third. So ‘Sticky Fingers‘ earns a place in my Classic Albums A-Z by virtue of that accolade. Brown Sugar’s a stunning track in many, many ways and it’ll always be my first love Rolling Stones number. However, there’s another track on this album which gets my spine tingling every time I hear it, and therefore plays such a close second fiddle that there’s very little to choose between them. ‘Can’t you hear me knocking’ earns that honour; from the Keith Richards’ stable, this is as thoroughbred a track as you’re ever likely to hear.

Stunning album. And yes, I have got the vinyl version with the real zip too!

Full track listing
  1. Brown Sugar
  2. Sway
  3. Wild Horses
  4. Can’t you hear me knocking
  5. You gotta move
  6. Bitch
  7. I got the blues
  8. Sister Morphine
  9. Dead flowers
  10. Moonlight mile
  • Mick Jagger (vocals)
  • Keith Richards (guitar)
  • Mick Taylor (lead guitar)
  • Charlie Watts (drums)
  • Bill Wyman (bass)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.