Classic albums A-Z: Primal Scream – Screamadelica (1991)



The world of Indie had plenty to be excited about at the back end of 1991. Nirvana’s ‘Nevermind’ was gradually taking over the planet alongside ‘Bandwagonesque’ from Teenage Fanclub and ‘Foxbase Alpha’ from Saint Etienne. But, if all that wasn’t enough, Primal Scream launched their third studio album into the mix and the musical landscape changed overnight.

There’s so much crammed into ‘Screamadelica’ that it’s hard to know where to begin. ‘Loaded’ had kicked things off the previous Spring, providing a taster of what was eventually to come with the album, giving the band an all access pass to ‘Top of the Pops’ and Bobby Gillespie poster-boy status. But there was a lot more to uncover here as well.

Personally my faves are the opening ‘Movin on up’, ‘Loaded’ and the closing ‘Shine like stars’. But this is a subliminal album; every track shines in its own light earning it true classic status on any level.

Full track listing
  1. Movin on up
  2. Slip inside this house
  3. Don’t fight it, feel it
  4. Higher than the sun
  5. Inner flight
  6. Come together
  7. Loaded
  8. Damaged
  9. I’m coming down
  10. Higher than the sun
  11. Shine like stars
  • Bobby Gillespie (vocals)
  • Andrew Innes (guitar)
  • Martin Duffy (keyboards)
  • Henry Olsen (bass)
  • Philip ‘Toby’ Tomanov (percussion)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s