Classic albums A-Z: Leftfield – Leftism (1995)



Early in 1995 I accompanied some mates to what still holds the record as the latest start to a gig we’ve ever been to – 2 a.m.! Yes, that’s right – two o’clock in the morning! It was for Leftfield‘s ‘Leftism’ tour hitting the club circuit to promote the album of same name released a few months earlier in January.

The stage area was in darkness until the the band finally made an entrance, so it wasn’t until then that you realised (from the three full drum kits) that this wasn’t all about keyboards and programming. That was powerful enough, especially as the band opened with the kick-line from ‘Space Shanty’, but none of us was prepared for the bass. When that kicked it was a moving experience. Quite literally! Powerful enough to shake the floor; strong enough to make you stagger, deep enough to feel. Big time!

Full track listing
  1. Release the pressure
  2. Afro left
  3. Melt
  4. Song of life
  5. Original
  6. Black Flute
  7. Space Shanty
  8. Inspection (check one)
  9. Storm 3000
  10. Open up
  11. 21st century poem

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s